visible close buttons on every firefox tab (including the last one)

After hacking around with a few firefox internals the other day, I decided there was another little annoyance that I had… When I’m acting insane and using my mouse to open and close tabs, the per tab close button disappears when there is only one tab left! This is apparently a feature, and while I can respect it as a default, it certainly isn’t an option for me. Thankfully, there are a lot of common minded individuals on the net, and the (hack) solution already existed. Here’s to explaining it clearly:

  1. Create/edit a userChrome.css file in your profile directory. For me this path was:
    ~/.mozilla/firefox/xxxxxxxx.default/chrome/userChrome.css
  2. Insert the following and restart firefox:
    .tab-close-button {display: -moz-box !important; }
  3. Share and Enjoy!

Happy hacking,

James

PS: In case it’s not blatantly obvious, I didn’t invent any of this, but I am writing about it for your enjoyment, and for my own lousy memory.

Leave a Reply

