fedora 14 to 17 upgrade

I’ve been reluctantly dreading the switch to gnome 3 + shell until it’s been ironed out a little bit more than gnome 3.0 – finally took the plunge. overall it’s working well. here are some (hopefully) useful notes:

  • preupgrade 14->17 in one step doesn’t work. it lets you wait an hour for all the downloads to finish, but once you’ve rebooted, the preupgrade installer tells you it can’t jump this far. fail. reboot into f14, yum clean all, rm -rf /var/cache/yum/preupgrade/* ? and preupgrade to f15. boot into that, and then jumping directly to f17 works great.
  • remove default f17 ugly fireworks background. the gnome3 default is pretty.
  • gnome-tweak-tool is essential. try all the options until you figure out which ones you want. listing my personal preferences here is far too boring for the internet.
  • dash click fix extension was essential for me. also: https://extensions.gnome.org/review/download/1323.shell-extension.zip which does the same thing, but for application launcher entries. this allows gnome-shell to behave properly and launch applications where i want them.
  • i also added: “Remove user name” and “Remove a11y” extensions.
  • “system-monitor”, is close to what i want, but is not good enough yet. disks access/writes don’t show, and it’s got a super ugly popup window. old gnome-system-monitor applet was PERFECT. Please bring it back or fix this one.
  • choose non-ugly background for gdm: # sudo -u gdm dbus-launch gnome-control-center

Hope this helped! Happy hacking,

James

6 thoughts on “fedora 14 to 17 upgrade

  1. Hi, I followed your way to upgrade from F14 -> F15 -> F17. But I failed between F15 to F17. When running upgrade process, filesystem package install error. I’m still digging into the issues. But upgrade is really a big headache in Fedora.

    • Hi there, sorry that you’re having trouble. I remember vaguely that if you have certain strange packages installed, they could break the upgrade process. This can happen if anaconda (the installer) doesn’t know how to resolve dependencies when doing the upgrade. If you happen to think of something strange you’ve installed, try uninstalling it first. Also, you’re more than likely to find information in the logs about why it failed. Have a look and let me know if you run into more trouble. By the way, Fedora 18 is out in a couple of days. If you really get stuck, it might be worth your time to wait two days, backup, and do a fresh Fedora 18 install.

      Hope this helps,
      James

      • OK. I used the hard way this time. I upgrade from F15->F16->F17. But if failed in 2nd step where booting upgrade image.

        I can run anaconda after reboot when I upgrade from F15 to F17. But I just can’t boot my box when upgrade directly from F16 to F17. I believe it is because grub get upgraded to grub2 in FC16. My box uses raid 0 and its boot partition is in raid. I’m still looking into the issues.

      • Apart from having direct access to the box, my diagnostic skills for this particular problem aren’t strong enough sorry. I can tell you to watch out for your RAID0, but you probably already know that. You should try googling for the specific errors you’re seeing. Chances are someone else has had this problem before. Good luck!

      • Finally, I figured it out the way to upgrade to Fedora 17.

        The issue is caused by the fact that my boot partition is in raid 0. Fedora 17 preupgrade used 2nd stage image. The 2nd stage image was installed in /boot partition. Linux kernel in preupgrade doesn’t support raid.

        Fedora 15, 16 preupgrade doesn’t use 2nd stage image at all. This can be confirmed by my /boot/grub/grub.cfg. But grub support raid. So there is no problem for grub to find Kernel and initrd.img in /boot partition. However, kernel in preupgrade doesn’t support raid. This can explain why they can’t find my kictstart file (ks kernel parameter) when upgrading to F15 and F16. Thus they don’t clean up the mess. after upgrading.

        This is implied by the bug https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=500004

        The bug was dated back to 3 years ago. But nobody care to fix it. Some curse is in between the comments. I can understand that if installing Fedora in data center without physical access. This is really a nightmare to upgrade.

        My solution to fix it is to use my 256MB SD card. Install grub2 on it. Copy /boot partition from my hard drive to SD card. Modify grub.cfg as follow:

        menuentry ‘Upgrade to Fedora 17 (Beefy Miracle)’ –class gnu-linux –class gnu –class os {
        linux /boot/upgrade/vmlinuz preupgrade nouveau.noaccel=1 repo=hd::/var/cache/yum/preupgrade ks=hd:UUID=C706-D245:/boot/upgrade/ks.cfg stage2=hd:UUID=C706-D245:/boot/upgrade/squashfs.img
        initrd /boot/upgrade/initrd.img
        }

        Note: UUID above is from my SD card.

        Boot from SD card and install repo in my hard disk. It works like a charm!
        Cheers,
        Ricky

      • Glad to hear you got this figured out! Thanks for sharing your solution, maybe it will be useful to others.

        In other news, I really recommend against using a RAID0 for /boot. It’s time to nuke this. Funny enough, anaconda doesn’t (yet?) support creating a RAID1 EFI boot partition, which is especially useful for HA servers.

        James

Leave a Reply

